Lights Out for Lupe Fiasco at the Inaugural Event for Obama

lupe fiasco kick off inauguration obama

Ok, first off Lupe Fiasco is one of the best lyricist of our times. When he releases a song, you can clearly hear his message. I love the hip-hop culture and I’ve listened to Fiasco’s music for years. I know that his content is sometimes controversial, so it wasn’t a surprise to me when I heard that Fiasco’s set got shut down at an Inauguration party for President Obama.

Fiasco was performing his song “Words I Never Say” from his album Lasers. In the song he raps “Limbaugh is a racist, Glenn Beck is a racist, Gaza strip was getting bombed, Obama didn’t say shit, That’s why I ain’t vote for him, next one either, I’m a part of the problem, my problem is I’m peaceful.” After that line, it was lights out.

I don’t think the problem was Fiasco, it was the event organizer StartUp RockOn who didn’t do their research on the rapper and booked him to perform at an event celebrating Obama’s second term! They gave Fiasco the perfect opportunity to start something. He loves to say what’s on his mind, especially in politics. All StartUp RockOn had to do was go on YouTube or iTunes and listen Fiasco’s music.

StartUp RockOn released this statement:

Lupe Fiasco performed at this private event, and as you may have read, he left the stage earlier than we had planned. But Lupe Fiasco was not “kicked off stage” for an “anti-Obama rant.” We are staunch supporters of free speech, and free political speech. This was not about his opinions. Instead, after a bizarrely repetitive, jarring performance that left the crowd vocally dissatisfied, organizers decided to move on to the next act. Lupe Fiasco repeated the one song for more than 40 minutes.

This won’t hurt Fiasco’s image at all. This is what he does best! Fans want to hear him talk about politics instead of going into clubs and popping champagne. Anyways, I though Americans love to say “it’s my freedom of speech” to everyone?

Do you think it was right that StartUp RockOn cut off Fiasco’s set? Did StartUp RockOn purposely want to start a controversy? Was Lupe Fiasco wrong for performing Words I Never Say?

Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

